Open Letter to Anti-Gun People

I found this response on a forum, and thought it deals well with the arguments against owning guns.  So, what about buckets?

Yes, you, who love your buckets.

You.

I would ask, what’s wrong with you, but I already know – you love five gallon buckets more than you love your child, or his child, or her child, or my child. You love buckets, period. Prove me wrong, because you haven’t yet.

Buckets. I understand mopping floors is important. Washing cars is important. A way to store cat litter is important. But surely you could use sacks. Because 164 children, innocent children, children who should have grown up safe and happy, died in your buckets between 1984 and 1989 alone. Over 30 babies. A year. Due to you bucket lovers. Far more than those that died due to relatively minor causes, such as gun violence. Not as many as died because Mommy couldn’t bother using a proper car seat. But too many.

I am sick of how you hide behind bucket money, gobs and gobs of plastic manufacturers money, while complaining about the influence of money in politics. If any other common item like a bucket was killing kids off at the rate of 30 to 40 a year like, say, cars (whoops, bad example, cars kill kids like mad, nevermind) or accidental ingestion of medications (whoops, another awful example, that one kills kids off like flies too – 45000 world wide a year), well, never mind, anyway, if things I didn’t like, like buckets, were killing kids off 30 a year for no reason, the government would jump right in.

I love buckets. I had them myself, and used them to mop floors and wash cars. When I became a parent, I found that in the US alone, 30 to 40 kids a year die in buckets, and now I just use a hose. I certainly don’t want anyone I love to die in a bucket. And bathtubs, my god, 80 kids a year in the US alone. I have ripped out all the bathtubs, gotten rid of the buckets, and got rid of all medications, cleaners and detergents in my home, and put them away forever.

It is not the anti-bucket people who will make this right. It’s the pro-bucket people who finally realize they should just dump water on the floor with a cup. And I make my kids wear bicycle helmets in the car.

buckets kill

 

Buckets can kill small children

 

Buckets seem so innocent — how can a bucket kill a child? Unfortunately, about 20 children die in the U.S. every year because they drown in buckets.

Children love water. When a child sees a bucket of water, it is an instant attraction. Unfortunately, toddlers are top heavy. If a toddler reaches into a bucket to touch the water, it is very easy for the child to tip right in headfirst. The child will never get back out.

According to the Consumer Product Safety Commission:

      5-gallon buckets, often used for household chores, pose a serious threat to toddlers. Their tall, straight sides combined with their stability make it nearly impossible for top-heavy infants to free themselves when they topple in headfirst.
Leave a Reply

